THANK YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Rendering Error in layout Widget/Social: Call to a member function exists() on null. Please enable debug mode for more information.
More
8 years 2 months ago - 8 years 2 months ago #2575 by modemer
I just wanted to register and say thank you so MUCH!!!! And to share my success.... I recently purchased a used macbook pro (A1398 2512) and it turned out to be locked down;

"Your computer is disabled, try again in 60 minutes"

When I then tried to boot (with key combos) for other (advanced) options, I was greeted with a nice big pad lock and password field. So I did some research and came across this LOVELY place. :) . . . . . . . I have never even touched a turned on macbook(pro) before today. But I have a LOT of experience reading/writing to soic spi chips, on embedded dev's.. These mostly had MX/Winbond, 25L/25FL, 8/16 pin spi chips, and I have read/wrote to so many. So I was hoping the process was similar. .....

I opened up my MBP today and was VERY happy to see an 8 spi chip. So I immediately wired it up (using single pin/leg grabber clips) and was able to detect and read/dump a perfect 8MB image from the efi chip, using my usbjtagNT!!!! I simply set the "jtagNT" to developer mode and chose 25L064(my chip is a 25Q064) as the target chip and hit detect, got a good detect, so I proceeded to dump it. After I read the chip and saved the dump (I took 4 more to be sure and compared them lol) I was able to then open the dump up in a hex editor (HxD) and replace the $SVS info with ff's (as described in the tutorial here step 4.1)

Note: I used my usbTTL's 5v and ground wires, in order to power the MBP's spi chip. I put the power line to pin 8 of the spi (of course) and grounded the ttl on one of the push pins :)