Flashing EFI on MacBook Air a1370 EMC 2471

Rendering Error in layout Widget/Social: Call to a member function exists() on null. Please enable debug mode for more information.
More
6 years 1 month ago #9341 by Mastermind37
i am having trouble reading the correct chip on my 2011 MacBook Air a1370 EMC 2471. I already have the clean dump with sn changed that matches the size of original bin efi dump.

I have been unlocking EFI passwords for years but having trouble using the PI to redo efi on this MacBook Air. This is my first time using a PI all together.

Equipment used:

Raspberry pi 3 model b
Macbook PRO to ssh into pI
rebel sim MBA easy clip

i have flash rom installed onto my pi and when i use the correct command to read my efi chip it comes back with "Found generic flash chip" Unknown SPI chip (RDID) (0 kb, SPI).

i have tried using the correct command to read a MX25L6406E and also a MX25L6406 comes back with No EEPROM/Flash device found
Note: Flashrom can never write if this flash chip isn't found automatically .

i am attaching pictures of everything that i have connected and i am pretty sure everything is connected to the right GPIO pins from raspberry pi to rebel sim clip.

Thanks for all assistance!
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 1 month ago #9346 by Mastermind37
$100 to the person who helps me figure out why I can't read this damn EFI chip using the pi 3 model b and the rebel sim adapter. I have already figured out how to read it using a bus pirate 3.6 but it has taking me hours to read the chip so far and I am not sure how long or if it will even work.

I used the -w command so it is in the first stage of reading it.