Read, write and clear EFI with a SOFI SP8A

Rendering Error in layout Widget/Social: Call to a member function exists() on null. Please enable debug mode for more information.
More
8 years 8 months ago - 8 years 7 months ago #1142 by CygnusX1
Hi all!
NOOB here.

I bought a SOFI SP8A and the SOIC8 SOP8 Flash Chip IC Test Clips Socket adapter to go with it. 1st is it possible to do read and write it with this setup and 2nd is there a tutorial on the process? :dry:

Thanks in advance,
CygnusX1

If I helped you buy me a latte!
Last edit: 8 years 7 months ago by CygnusX1. Reason: update topic icon

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
8 years 7 months ago #1154 by thaGH05T
yes and no.

So if you would like to write a tutorial that would be great considering you are the third person to ask. It is the exact same process just with a different programmer and different software doing the footwork.

More
8 years 7 months ago #1160 by CygnusX1
Well I am surely going to try it with the SOFI. If I get it to work I will write a tutorial and post it here on this fine forum! :)

More
8 years 7 months ago #1176 by zenelli

CygnusX1 wrote: Well I am surely going to try it with the SOFI. If I get it to work I will write a tutorial and post it here on this fine forum! :)

I got this programmer too it works great and easy but on macbooks i got a problem, i can't read the chip on board it gives me error, so i must unsolder the chip programe it and solder back,it's to much work.
why you can programme chips onboard with raspberry without problems and not with a (normally) programmer? i don't get it

bye the way i got sofi sp8A and sp16A Both the same problem

More
8 years 7 months ago #1193 by CygnusX1
Well that stinks. Are you disconnecting the battery when you try to read the chip? How are you interfacing with the SOFI? I may order the new Raspberry Pi also just to be on the safe side. I wonder if the new PI would work OK.

More